Beef with the BMI Scale

by Meredith Winnett

I had my physical today. Since I’ve been going to the gym I’ve been avoiding the scale as long as I was seeing positive changes in my body. When I started going to the gym, I was about 125 pounds. You can imagine my surprise this morning when the scale read 148.

 

 

 

Body mass index chart

Body mass index chart (Photo credit: IITA Image Library)

Right above the scale was the spawn of Satan – the BMI Scale.

I am 5’6″. I wear a size 4. To get a little intimate with my readers, I wear a 34B. According to the Body Mass Index chart, I’d be considered overweight if I gained just 5 more pounds. So a size 5 or 6 would be overweight. #wut?

What I’ve gathered is that this scale is incredibly deceiving. As healthy as my lifestyle is and has been, I could be considered overweight and deemed unhealthy. My doctor even gave me the talk that because of my family history of heart disease and diabetes being in the overweight category could increase my risk of these diseases. So now everyone I know is going to give me a hard time because I need to go on a diet.

I never thought someone of my size would need to lose weight! That’s just ridiculous. I’m very pleased with where my body is now and now I have to change it? I’m scared that if I don’t my insurance premiums will go up. Not to mention all those silly diseases I could develop. (I’m in no way saying diabetes and heart disease is silly. Just the fact that I was warned I could be a risk.)

I know people who are in good shape and have average builds but are considered obese by these standards. NO WONDER WHY THERE’S AN OBESITY PROBLEM IN AMERICA. The statistics are skewed! Not to mention the lack of quality in food and general laziness, but that’s besides the point. But I wonder how many people out there are considered obese but are actually just muscular…

I did find a more reasonable BMI and Body Calculator though. This takes your age, pant size, gender, and activity level. It gave me the same BMI, but is also measured how much fat was on my body. The calculator made me feel a lot better about my body than the Bullshit Measuring Index.

Side note: I’m getting tested for thyroid disease since that runs in my family too and could explain such a drastic weight increase. But, I have to cut out junk food (which is probably a good idea anyway), eat lean meats, and do more cardio than weight lifting.

 

What do you think? Is there a need to redo the BMI scale? Do you have a similar experience? Do you think I’m fat? Let us know in the comments!

Enhanced by Zemanta
