Make a Difference

by Meredith Winnett

I am hopefully giving a pint of my O+ tomorrow! I try giving blood every chance I get because I have all this extra in me, I’m healthy, and someone else needs it out there. So if you’re eligible and feel like helping someone in need without spending money (this is Livin’ La Vida BROKE-a after all), why not find a blood drive near you!

I common problem I and many other women have is low iron. The past three times I have tried donating I’ve been turned away because my iron was just a little too low. That isn’t going to happen tomorrow.

Blood Donation

Blood Donation (Photo credit: Rojina)

What is my plan to prevent low iron, you ask? Simple. I’m going to stuff my face. With these iron rich foods that is. I made sure to include options for all specialty diets so you vegans/gluten free/dairy free etc. people can join the fun 😉

  • Beef
  • Liver
  • Eggs
  • Shrimp
  • Clams
  • Scallops
  • Dark leafy greens (kale, spinach, collards)
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Peas
  • Whole wheat bread
  • Enriched white bread
  • Enriched pasta
  • Bran cereals
  • Strawberries
  • Raisins
  • Dried peaches
  • Tofu
  • Beans (kidney, garbanzo, white)
  • Lentils
  • Maple syrup

Worried you still may not have high enough iron? Try eating the iron-rich foods with vitamin C-rich foods. They have some weird chemical reaction so you’re able to absorb the iron better. Also, avoid green tea while you’re trying to boost your iron. Again, some weird chemical reaction, only this time the tea blocks iron from being absorbed. This is HEARTBREAKING to me, but I can always drink tea before my post-donation nap 🙂

Any tips or trick about blood donation? Let everyone know in the comments!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
