Let’s Be Friends

by Meredith Winnett

First off, I’m sorry for not blogging yesterday. I was a little busy.

Second, I saw something on Colbert that really pissed me off last night. Now I hate to get political, but fuck Bill O’Reilly. Everyone knows Colbert is not the place to go to get right-wing coverage, but I’m a moderate so who cares where I get the news?

Caution: I may be using some foul language, so if you’re easily offended, I suggest you stop reading.

Stephen Colbert as the fictional Stephen Colbert

Stephen Colbert as the fictional Stephen Colbert (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Bill was kind enough to do a segment where he basically said the president is wasting his time fighting for equality and some people will always be better than others. What? He then went and compared himself to Shaq saying Shaq will always be more athletic, to Mother Teresa and that she will always be kinder than him, and to Mozart saying he is more talented than O’Reilly. K Bill.

The way I took what he said is the president is wasting his time in the White House because men will always be superior to women and straight people will always be superior to gay people. So men should earn more than their female EQUALS and gay people should be denied EQUALITY because there’s a religion that thinks it’s wrong to be homosexual. No no no no no. This is wrong.

This is America. Our Constitution says “All men are created equally”. This is the Land of the Free. No asterisk. Everyone. EVERYONE should be free. We should all be covered with fair and equal rights. Women should earn as much money as their male peers, gay people should be able to stay hired regardless of their sexual orientation and they should be able to marry despite their neighbors’ religions.

Now don’t pull this religious freedom bullshit. If you were really concerned with the First Amendment, you’d see that all religions are covered. Including the ones who aren’t hateful towards others. It is your religious freedom not to marry someone of the same gender, but you’re oppressing people of other religions who maybe don’t really care what people do with their lives. Maybe some people who are not members of your religion think it’s okay for homosexuals to get married. What I’m trying to get at is, if someone wants to marry a person of their own gender and they aren’t a part of a religion that says they can’t, who are you to stop them? Why do you want to deny happiness to two people who love each other? How is this the land of the free if not everyone is free? I mean, come on now, the freakin’ Pope even said it’s okay to be gay!

As for women: We’ve been in the workforce since WWII. More women have college degrees than men. If I put in the same amount of work as a man, I deserve to be paid as much as him. Stop with the excuses. I have a vagina. Big fucking deal. If I bleed every month or (please please no) have a child, whatever. That’s my problem. Why should I get paid less because of this? Men are able to take paternity leave more often than ever. Will they get paid less if they have a child? Fuck no. Oh, and we have these wonderful things called tampons now. Stick one of those bad boys in your vag and you’re all set for the next 5 hours. That’s about how often you’d take a potty break anyway. So fuck you, sexists, for paying women less for no reason.

Now I’m writing this on the bike so I probably made a ton of errors. Please correct them. I beg you. I have to focus on breathing now so tell me what you think in the comments.

Update: I did not publish this immediately because the WiFi in the gym wouldn’t let me. Anyway, while I was blog biking, I ended up doing a 3:30 mile for about 10 minutes.. My heart rate shot up to about 200 bpm as a mixture of anger and exercise. I thought it was a silly irrelevant tidbit I could add to lighten the mood of the post.

Enhanced by Zemanta
