It’s Been a While…

by Meredith Winnett

I haven’t posted anything fitness related this semester. I’m sorry guys! This whole applying-to-jobs thing got in my way. So I’ll do a quick post on an arm workout I’ve been doing for a little while. Now I also do the chest press machine and the butterfly for my back and chest, these are just my additional dumbbell workouts.

  • Tricep Dips – you can grab a couple of steps and dip yourself with them. Don’t know how to do a tricep dip? Here’s a video!
  • Dumbbell Curls – I alternate arms and go very slowly for the most effective workout. Also, once I finish a set the normal way, I immediately do a second set with my palms facing each other which works the triceps a little more.
  • Shrugs – Hold your dumbbells in each hand and let your arms rest by your side. Lift your shoulders for three, then drop. Repeat.
  • Overhead Lift … Things – Ok, so I don’t know what these are actually called, but this is what it looks like:

    (from workoutlabs.com)

For this, I do three sets of ten. You can do any more or any less that you feel comfortable with. Don’t push yourself to do what I say to do if it hurts then sue me. This workout works for me and I’m just sharing it. Working out is different for everyone, so find what works for you 🙂

Bonus:

Military Plank – Mondays Wednesdays and Fridays at the gym are arm and ab days for me, so this move works both. Put your hands together under your chest, then lift yourself up with straight arms. Hold this for 30-45 seconds.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
