Trim the Tree, Trim the Fat

by Meredith Winnett

One of the biggest worries we have, and often ignore, during the holidays is how much weight we’ll gain. Thanksgiving is filled with all healthy foods (turkey, carrots, green beans, etc.), but Christmas is about the desserts. The main meal is never as important as the desserts as there are so many of them! It’s impossible to ignore that beautiful triffle, or the cookies with Santa’s face on them, and that delicious chocolaty thing OH MY! And we justify eating everything in sight (I do it too) because it’s the holidays and you only get to eat this stuff once a year. This isn’t a terribly bad thing, just don’t be shocked on December 26 when you’ve put on 15 pounds.

There is a way to avoid it though. Stay consistent while working out during the holidays. This will significantly reduce the holiday weight gain. Also, it justifies how many cookies you can eat 😉

This is my Christmas Triffle from last year. I’ll have to post the recipe…

I found this really clever routine that’s based on the 12 Days of Christmas. If you’re just as obsessed with Christmas as I am, you’ll likely find this amusing.

Many of these exercises require some sort of weight. If you don’t have a gym membership or at-home equipment, try to find alternatives such as textbooks, your laptop, or a box filled with things to equal your desired weight.

Sing it with me!

On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me…
One 30-second plank!

On the second day of Christmas my true love gave to me…
Two push ups!

On the third day of Christmas my true love gave to me…
Three bent over rows!

On the fourth day of Christmas my true love gave to me…
Four supermans!

On the fifth day of Christmas my true love gave to me…
Five kettle bell swings!

On the sixth day of Christmas my true love gave to me…
Six deadlifts!

On the seventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me…
Seven sit ups!

On the eighth day of Christmas my true love gave to me…
Eight tricep dips! (these can be done off your sofa)

On the ninth day of Christmas my true love gave to me…
Nine calf raises!

On the tenth day of Christmas my true love gave to me…
Ten alternating lunges! (do ten lunges on each leg, while alternating legs)

On the eleventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me…
Eleven mountain climbers!

On the twelfth day of Christmas my true love gave to me…
Twelve box jumps! (if you do not have the proper equipment, I do not suggest this step. you can fall and get hurt and that would ruin Christmas.)

Try running through this a few times!

Of course, consult your doctor before starting any exercise routine. I’m not a fitness instructor, so I may not know what I’m talking about. All of my routines are posted from other blogs. Be safe!

