This is a TERRIBLE Idea

by Meredith Winnett

I had another idea for today’s post … then I walked to class.

This morning I walked to class alone, as I do every Monday Wednesday and Friday. The alone walk usually gives me time to think, and this is usually a good thing. Not this morning. This morning was different. Stress brain took over my thoughts and made me hate myself.

I was thinking about how this round of registration was going to pick my last set of college classes. Exciting stuff! I’m going to graduate soon! Then I realized this isn’t the end – I need to go to grad school. Of course this threw me to the realization that I have no idea what I want to go for. Do I want a Master’s in PR? Do I want a Master’s in Marketing? How will I stand out? Will I be just another MBA? There are countless articles online about how the MBA has become obsolete. So, what do I want to do?!

I know I want to take a year off before grad school. Real world experience is much more valuable than higher levels of education. But, you can earn more with a Master’s degree, so it’s worth going for it. Where do I begin?

I’m going to make a list for you. This list will (hopefully) make me feel better about myself. And hopefully I won’t cry about how unprepared I am…

  1. Decide on a region you want to study in. Abroad, Florida, home, wherever. I at least have this step done. I definitely want to go to school in or around Boston. This is where I’m hoping to work, so it would make sense to go to school here. There are a lot of really good online programs, too. For example, I tossed around the idea of Kent State. This was until I realized online courses are not for me. If you do decide you want to try an online grad program, take a few classes online for your undergrad.
    Boston Skyline

    Boston Skyline (Photo credit: brentdanley)

     

  2. Make up your mind. What do you want to study? What do you want to do with your degree? My ideal job would be working in public relations for the Patriots. So how do I get there? A simple Google search can bring you plenty of answers such as how much experience you need and what skills you need to bring. This can aid in your search for your ideal school. Check out required courses in the programs you’re looking at. Email a department head or admissions director. Once you decide on a school, research it as extensively as possible. Try rate my professor, yelp, and other review sites.
    Image representing Google Search as depicted i...

    Image via CrunchBase

     

  3. Take the GREs. This part of applying to grad schools scares me the most. It almost makes me wish I could just drop out now and become a janitor for the Patriots. It’s the SATs part two, only it’s material I haven’t looked at in three years. No. Thanks. Most schools require a 600 or above. I’m not going to talk about this anymore because I want to cry. Talk to your academic advisor about it…
  4. Learn to sell yourself. This will be handy in your personal statements and interviews. What makes you different from every other applicant? Don’t write “I am smart. I am funny. I am adventurous.” Be bold, take a chance. For writers, this will be simple. For others, it may take some time. Dedicate yourself! Have fun with it. Check out these tips.
    Prostitute talking to a potential customer in ...

    Sell yourself, prostitute, get it? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

     

  5. Apply! You’re ready! The worst of it is over. You’ll need at least two dependable professors to write you a letter of recommendation. Read up on some tips on how to get into grad school, then send in your applications. Now we play the waiting game…
    Graduation

    (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

     

You know, it’s a really good thing I’m taking a year off before I apply. This will give me time to decide what I want to do, study up for my GREs, and decide where I want to go. I had a dream I was accepted into Northeastern so maybe I should check that out…

Grad school is a big decision. Don’t waste your money going right away if you don’t know what you want to do. Get a big boy or big girl job. Take some time to think. Save up. It may not be as bad as you think!

I won’t let my thoughts stress me out too much. I have time. I just have to keep reminding myself of that. There’s no rush!

