Burpees Burpees Burpees!

by Meredith Winnett

It’s official … I’m registered for a Spartan Race! It’s November 16th (the day after my birthday) at Fenway Park and I couldn’t be more excited! I’ve been loosely training since January with many days off between workouts, especially over the summer. I’ve made some progress in these ten months, but it’s crunch time! Six. More. Weeks!!

I was looking for a training routine that included burpee training. In Spartan Races, burpees are a punishment for a failed obstacle. Right now, I can’t do more than ten burpees without collapsing. I stumbled upon a post about Marlene’s October burpee challenge. She goes day by day, increasing the workout as she goes. Perfect! Just what I was looking for! This does not look easy AT ALL – but easy doesn’t give results. Hopefully I don’t have to do any burpees during the race, but it doesn’t hurt to be ready. I’ll be starting this challenge today.

In case you don’t know what a burpee is, check out this video. It’s a fun workout that tests your entire body and I recommend it more than any other workout. Even if you’re not doing a race, it’ll be worth it to get in shape for Halloween 😉

For those who don’t know what a Spartan Race is: A Spartan Race is an obstacle race between three and 26 miles long. They are timed races which use military style obstacles. Spartan Race is in a partnership with Homes for Our Troops, which provides specialty housing to severely injured troops. In August, I volunteered at the Spartan Race in Amesbury MA. Volunteers get a free race, among other perks, for their time. I have volunteered at many different events, but no one has seemed more thankful for my time than the people of Spartan Race. Will I volunteer again? Of course! Let’s see how November goes to decide if I’d race again…

Cheers!
Meredith

